Netflix will release a new movie every week in 2021

Netflix has confirmed it will release a new movie every week, ensuring that there’s plenty of streaming entertainment to amuse us while COVID-19 restrictions continue. On Jan. 12, the company released its streaming slate, which consists of 71 movie titles across all genres, from family animation to thrillers to romantic comedies.

The NetflixFilm Twitter page gave a sneak peek at 27 of the new films, including “The Harder They Fall,” a Western starring Idris Elba and Regina King, the superhero comedy “Thunder Force,” starring Melissa McCarthy and Octavia Spencer, and the Amy Adams thriller “The Woman in the Window.”

Most of the releases are Netflix originals, but there are also some notable acquisitions, including Peter Chernin’s thriller trilogy “Fear Street,” which the filmmaker shot back-to-back in Georgia in 2019. Also on the list is Halle Berry’s directorial debut “Bruised,” the rights to which were sold for close to $20 million to Netflix after screening as a work-in-progress at the 2020 Toronto Film Festival.

One project that’s got everybody talking is “Don’t Look Up,” with an all-star cast including Jennifer Lawrence, Leonardo DiCaprio, Ariana Grande, Timothee Chalamet, Kid Cudi and Meryl Streep.

This is the first time Netflix has released its slate of films at one time, but these are unusual times, of course — and there’s a lot of competition out there. WarnerMedia (Warner Bros. and HBO Max) and Disney (Disney+) have also revealed their upcoming releases to keep customers interested — and keep them paying their streaming subscriptions.

Synopses for each movie be found on the Netflix website, and here’s the whole list of titles (though it’s likely to grow longer throughout the year as the company makes new acquisitions):

“8 Rue de l’Humanité” (non-English language)

“A Boy Called Christmas”

“A Castle for Christmas”

“Afterlife of the Party”

“Army of the Dead”


“A Week Away”

“A Winter’s Tale from Shaun the Sheep” (not available globally)

“Back to the Outback”

“Bad Trip”



“Blood Red Sky” (non-English language)

“Bombay Rose”



“Concrete Cowboy”

“Don’t Look Up”

“Double Dad” (non-English language)

“Escape from Spiderhead”

“Fear Street Trilogy”

“Fever Dream” (non-English language)

“Finding ‘Ohana” (Jan. 29)

“Fuimos Canciones” (non-English language)

“I Care A Lot” (not available globally)



“Kissing Booth 3”

“Love Hard”

“Malcolm & Marie”



“Munich” (non-English language)


“Night Teeth”

“No One Gets Out Alive”

“O2” (non-English language)

“Outside the Wire” (Jan. 15)

“Penguin Bloom” (not available globally) (Jan. 27)

“Pieces of Woman” (Jan. 7)

“Red Notice”

“Rise of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles”

“Robin Robin”

“Skater Girl”

“Stowaway” (not available globally)

“Sweet Girl”

“The Dig” (Jan. 29)

“The Guilty”

“The Hand of God” (non-English language)

“The Harder They Fall”

“The Kissing Booth 3”

“The Last Letter from Your Lover” (not available globally)

“The Last Mercenary” (non-English language)

“The Loud House Movie”

“The Power of the Dog”

“The Princess Switch 3”

“There’s Someone Inside Your House”

“The Starling”

“The Swarm” (non-English language)

“The White Tiger” (Jan. 22)

“The Woman in the Window”

“Things Heard and Seen”

“Thunder Force”

“tick, tick…BOOM!”

“To All The Boys: Always and Forever”

“Trollhunters: Rise of the Titans”

“Untitled Alexandre Moratto” (non-English language)

“Untitled Graham King”

“Untitled Alicia Keys Rom-Com”

“Wish Dragon”