Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announces 2022 induction Class, including Dolly Parton

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has revealed its 2022 Induction Class Wednesday.

The 2022 inductees are:

Performer (honoring bands and solo artists who, in their careers, have created music whose originality, impact and influence has changed the course of rock & roll):

  • Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo
  • Duran Duran
  • Eminem
  • Eurythmics
  • Dolly Parton
  • Lionel Richie
  • Carly Simon

Musical Excellence (given to artists, musicians, songwriters and producers whose originality and influence creating music have had a dramatic impact on music):

  • Judas Priest
  • Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis

Early Influence Award (given to a performing artist or group whose music and performance style have directly influenced and helped inspire and evolve rock & roll and music that has impacted youth culture):

  • Harry Belafonte
  • Elizabeth Cotten

Ahmet Ertegun Award (given to nonperforming industry professionals who, through their dedicated belief and support of artists and their music have had a major influence on the creative development and growth of rock & roll and music that has impacted youth culture):

  • Allen Grubman
  • Jimmy lovine
  • Sylvia Robinson

Earlier this year, Parton had tried to decline her nomination to the Hall of Fame, saying on social media, “I don’t feel that I have earned that right.” The Hall of Fame said the ballots were already out, though, and Parton remained on the ballot.

By Kaylyn Hlavaty, WEWS.