Hooray! Ben & Jerry’s Now Has Non-Dairy Ice Cream!
The best news.
Lactose-intolerant persons, rejoice! Last summer, Ben & Jerry’s announced that it was going to develop a line of ice cream that didn’t include dairy, but retained all the creamy flavor and goodness of their original indulgences.
— Ben & Jerry’s (@benandjerrys) June 16, 2015
But how is that possible? Their secret: Almond milk. Zoe Bain from Refinery29 got to taste the new flavors herself and reports,
I got to try the four flavors before they officially launched, and I have to say I was very surprised by the outcome. If I’m being totally honest, I was expecting them to be just okay, and still ultimately taste like an ice cream alternative. However, they really, truly tasted like regular old Ben & Jerry’s.
Their new flavors are Chocolate Fudge Brownie, Chunky Monkey, Coffee Caramel Fudge, and P.B. & Cookies.
And for those that have been patiently waiting for vegan ice cream, their on-diary line is certified for that too!
— Ben & Jerry's (@benandjerrys) February 3, 2016
According to the Ben & Jerry’s site, “We’ve partnered with Vegan Action to certify that our non-dairy doesn’t include animal products of any kind—including eggs, dairy or honey. We admire you for your commitment and we hope you love the magnificent vegan chunks & swirls we’ve loaded into these bad boys. ”
— Ben & Jerry’s (@benandjerrys) February 3, 2016